Legends of Chess – GM Jan Gustafsson, GM Laurent Fressinet, GM Pascal Charbonneau & GM Pepe Cuenca

Streaming available
Production House


Gift this product by adding the recipient's email address at checkout. They will receive the gift with a personal message from you, and they won't be able to see the order amount. Read more on our Gift FAQ

Lowest price guarantee

100-Day 100% Money Back Guarantee

Default Title

We accept


Legends Of Chess - Gm Jan Gustafsson, Gm Laurent Fressinet, Gm Pascal Charbonneau & Gm Pepe Cuenca

Legends Of Chess - Gm Jan Gustafsson, Gm Laurent Fressinet, Gm Pascal Charbonneau & Gm Pepe Cuenca

A series looking at the famous careers of the six legends in the 2020 chess24 Legends of Chess as well two more World Champions who will join the commentary – Judit Polgar and Anatoly Karpov.

To showcase some of the great chess players of the last few decades and provide background to the chess24 Legends of Chess tournament.



  1. Intro
    Grandmaster Jan Gustafsson welcomes you to this new series that covers the careers of living legends Judit Polgar, Vishy Anand, Vladimir Kramnik, Vasyl Ivanchuk, Boris Gelfand, Peter Leko, Peter Svidler and Anatoly Karpov.
  2. Vishy Anand
    Magnus Carlsen’s second, Laurent Fressinet, summarizes the incredible career of the 5-time classical World Champion.
    Games covered: Anand 1-0 Kasparov, 1995 New York WCh
    Anand 1-0 Shirov, 2000 New Delhi WCh
    Anand 1/2-1/2 Kramnik, 2007 Mexico WCh
    Kramnik 0-1 Anand, 2008 Bonn WCh
    Topalov 0-1 Anand, 2010 Sofia WCh
    Anand 1-0 Gelfand, 2012 Moscow WCh
    Mamedyarov 0-1 Anand, 2014 Khanty
    Anand 1-0 Carlsen, 2014 Sochi WCh
  3. Boris Gelfand
    Boris Gelfand has been a fixture in top-level chess from the late 1980s until the present day.
    Jan covers his career, which peaked in winning the 2011 Candidates and playing Vishy Anand for the World title in 2012, using the following snippets:
    Polugaevsky-Gelfand, Reggio Emilia 1992
    Gelfand-Ivanchuk, Dos Hermanas 1996
    Karjakin-Gelfand, Khanty 2009
    Mamedyarov-Gelfand, Kazan 2011
    Gelfand-Grischuk, Kazan 2011
    Gelfand-Anand, Moscow 2012
  4. Vasyl Ivanchuk
    Spanish GM Pepe Cuenca looks at the career of eccentric Ukrainian chess genius Vasyl Ivanchuk. He looks closely at two games:
    Ivanchuk 1-0 Kasparov, Linares 1991
    Ivanchuk 1-0 Karjakin, Nice 2008
  5. Anatoly Karpov
    Anatoly Karpov was a dominant World Champion for the decade after Bobby Fischer refused to defend his title until Garry Kasparov snatched the crown. 2-time Canadian Champion Pascal Charbonneau looks at his career, including the games:
    Karpov 1-0 Korchnoi, Moscow 1974
    Karpov 1-0 Shirov, Biel 1992
    Karpov 1-0 Sax, Linares 1983
    Karpov 1-0 Kasparov, Moscow 1984
    Karpov 1-0 Adorjan, Lucerne 1989
  6. Vladimir Kramnik
    Vladimir Kramnik is the man who managed to beat Garry Kasparov and hold on to the chess crown for the next 7 years. Spanish GM Pepe Cuenca looks at the career of one of the most influential figures in modern chess, including the games:
    Aronian 0-1 Kramnik, Berlin 2018
    Kramnik 1-0 Kasparov, London 2000
  7. Peter Leko
    Peter Leko was a chess prodigy who came within a single draw of the World Championship title against Vladimir Kramnik in 2004. Spanish GM Pepe Cuenca takes a look at Leko’s career, including the games:
    Kramnik 0-1 Leko, Brissago 2004
    Kramnik 1-0 Leko, Brissago 2004
  8. Judit Polgar
    Judit Polgar broke into the World Top 10 as a 19-year-old and is the strongest female chess player of all time. Pascal takes a look at her career, including the games:
    Polgar 1-0 Anand, Dos Hermanas, 1999
    Chernin 0-1 Polgar, New Delhi 1990
    Polgar 1-0 Rogers, Biel 1993
    Polgar 1-0 Guseinov, Aix le Bains 2011
    Shirov 0-1 Polgar, Buenos Aires 1994
  9. Peter Svidler
    French Grandmaster Laurent Fressinet talks about 8-time Russian Champion Peter Svidler’s career and shows us extracts from some of his memorable games!
    Svidler 1-0 Burmakin, Elista 1994
    Svidler 1-0 Kasparov, Tilburg 1997
    Grischuk 0-1 Svidler, Khanty 2011
    Carlsen 0-1 Svidler, London 2013
    Kramnik 0-1 Svidler, Khanty 2014
    Svidler 1-0 Karjakin, Baku 2015
    Svidler 1-0 Malakhov, St. Petersburg 2017
  10. Magnus draws last blood
    The last game we’re going to look at is the encounter from Stavanger 2018, when Carlsen decided to avoid the Petroff with 2.Bc4.
  11. Who has the upper hand?
    Jan and Pepe compare the combatants and give their match predictions.

Additional information

Type of Video

Running Time

3 hours 27 mins

Production House


, , ,


, ,


Content Outline

  1. Intro
  2. Vishy Anand
  3. Boris Gelfand
  4. Vasyl Ivanchuk
  5. Anatoly Karpov
  6. Vladimir Kramnik
  7. Peter Leko
  8. Judit Polgar
  9. Peter Svidler