The Accelerated Dragon: A Sharp Weapon against 1.e4 – GM Nadezhda Kosintseva

Production House
Gift this product by adding the recipient's email address at checkout. They will receive the gift with a personal message from you, and they won't be able to see the order amount. Read more on our Gift FAQ

Lowest price guarantee

100-Day 100% Money Back Guarantee

Default Title

Shipping available: North America, Europe, UK, Mexico

We accept


chessbase activatekey banner 1

The Accelerated Dragon Chess Opening: A Sharp Weapon against 1.e4 - GM Nadezhda Kosintseva (Physical Disc)
The Accelerated Dragon: A Sharp Weapon against 1.e4 – GM Nadezhda Kosintseva

After 1.e4 c5 2.Nf3 Nc6 3.d4 cxd4 4.Nxd4 g6! leads to the so-called “Accelerated Dragon Defense” chess opening of the Sicilian, which is characterized by the idea to achieve the thematic central break d7-d5 in one move (in contrast to the “Dragon Variation”, in which Black plays d7-d6).

On this DVD, the Russian grandmaster and top women player Nadezhda Kosintseva reveals the secrets of her favorite chess opening.

Kosintseva has played the Accelerated Dragon chess opening for many years and achieved a lot of success with it.

You too can accelerate your chess opening – with this complete repertoire for Black against 1.e4!

On move five White has basically two continuations:

First, 5.c4 – the popular Maroczy system, against which Kosintseva has a number of strong recommendations in store.

Second, the “Open Variation” 5.Nc3, against which the grandmaster offers no less than two promising systems.

The modern dynamic treatment with a quick d7-d5, which is a firm part of the repertoire of top grandmaster Boris Gelfand from Israel, employed this line successfully on a number of occasions in 2017 which made it very popular. And the quieter, strategic approach with …d6 and … Qa5, which gives the game an entirely different character.

The Accelerated Dragon A Sharp Weapon against 1.e4 – GM Nadezhda Kosintseva
The Accelerated Dragon A Sharp Weapon against 1.e4 – GM Nadezhda Kosintseva

Kosintseva explains the theoretical main lines and side lines of the Accelerated Dragon, but also the many strategic finesses of this chess opening with its typical plans and pawn breaks (such as d7-d5 and b7-b5), and of course, she also shows clever tactical stratagems such as the classical Sicilian exchange sacrifice …Rxc3 followed by …Nxe4.

The material learnt can be practiced with interactive tasks with video feedback which makes you fit for the practical game – and helps you to make your opponent sweat!

  • Video running time: 4 hours 51 minutes (English)
  • With interactive training including video feedback
  • Extra: Database with more than 50 model games
  • Including CB 14 Reader

About the Author:

GM Nadezhda Kosintseva
Grandmaster Nadezhda Kosintseva

Nadezhda Kosintseva was born in 1985 in Arkhangelsk, Russia.

For many years she and her sister Tatiana had been the strongest pair of sisters in chess. Both sisters won many titles.

Nadezhda Kosintseva was U10-European Champion Girls 1995, U12-European Champion Girls 1997, and U18 European Champion Girls 2000.

She became U14 World Champion Girls in 1998. And in 2008 she became a Russian National Woman Champion.

The World Chess Federation FIDE voted her as “Women Player of the Year” in 2009 after she had not lost a single game in that year.

She played for the Russian Women’s team in the Chess Olympiads in 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010, and 2012. Nadzhda won gold for the team in 2010 and 2012 and she also won gold for the best individual player on her board in 2004, 2008, 2010, and 2012.

Nadezhda Kosintseva also won the European Team Championship with the Russian team in 2007, 2009, and 2011.

She became a Women Grandmaster in 2002 and she became a Grandmaster in 2011. She had a rating of 2576 and was number five on the women’s ranking list in 2010.

In 2013, Nadezhda Kosintseva withdrew from tournament chess. She currently lives with her family in the USA and works as a chess trainer.

System Requirements:

Minimum: Pentium III 1 GHz, 1 GB RAM, Windows 8.1, DirectX9 graphic card with 256 MB RAM, DVD-ROM drive, Windows Media Player 9 and internet connection for program activation.

Recommended: PC Intel Core i7, 2.8 GHz, 4 GB RAM, Windows 10, DirectX10 graphic card (or compatible) with 512 MB RAM or better, 100% DirectX10 compatible sound card, Windows Media Player 11, DVDROM drive and internet connection for program activation.

Additional information


Running Time

4 hours 51 minutes


, ,

Type of Video

Opening Name

Production House

Chapter List

  1. Introduction [06:13]
  2. Move orders [13:22]
  3. Traps – Trap-1; Trap-2; Trap-3; Trap-4; Trap-5; Trap-6; Trap-7; Trap-8; Trap-9 [17:39]
  4. Chapter 2: Maroczy Bind 5.c4
    1. Maroczy Intro [10:25]
    2. 5…Bg7 6.Be3 Nf6 7.Nc3 0-0 8.Be2 d6 9.0-0 Bd7 10.Qd2/Rc1/f4 – Video notation [16:20]
    3. 5…Bg7 6.Be3 Nf6 7.Nc3 0-0 8.Be2 d6 9.0-0 Bd7 10.Nc2 – Video notation [22:10]
  5. Chapter 3: 5.Nc3 Bg7 6.Be3 Nf6 7.Bc4
    1. Intro 7.f3/Qd2 – Video notation [11:45]
    2. 7.Bc4 0-0 8.Bb3/f3 – Video notation [11:32]
    3. 7.Bc4 0-0 8.Bb3 d5 9.exd5 Na5 10.0-0/Nde2/Nf3/Qd2 – Video notation [20:47]
    4. 7.Bc4 0-0 8.Bb3 d5 9.exd5 Na5 10.Qf3 – Video notation [10:57]
    5. 7.Bc4 Qa5 8.0-0 0-0 9.Nb3 – Video notation [19:04]
    6. 7.Bc4 Qa5 8.0-0 0-0 9.Bb3 – Video notation [11:27]
  6. Chapter 4: The Classical Be2
    1. 5…Bg7 6.Nb3 Nf6 7.Nc3 0-0 8.0-0 d6 9.Bg5/Kh1/f4/Re1 – Video notation [20:01]
    2. 5…Bg7 6.Nb3 Nf6 7.Nc3 0-0 8.0-0 d6 9.Re1 – Video notation [09:35]
    3. 5.Nc3 Bg7 6.Be3 Nf6 7.Be2 0-0 8th move alternatives – Video notation [20:50]
    4. 5.Nc3 Bg7 6.Be3 Nf6 7.Be2 0-0 8.Nb3 d6 9.0-0 Be6 – Video notation [08:20]
  7. Chapter 5: Sidelines
    1. 5.Nxc6 or 5.Nc3 Bg7 6.Be3 Nf6 7.Nxc6 – Video notation [14:06]
    2. g3 setups – 5.Nc3 Bg7 6.Nde2 Nf6 7.g3/5.Be3 Nf6 6.Nc3 Bg7 7.g3 – Video notation [16:25]
  8. Chapter 6: Test section
    1. Test 1 [03:05]
    2. Test 2 [01:10]
    3. Test 3 [03:24]
    4. Test 4 [01:42]
    5. Test 5 [02:47]
    6. Test 6 [04:01]
    7. Test 7 [01:53]
    8. Test 8 [02:30]
    9. Test 9 [01:00]
    10. Test 10 [02:25]
    11. Test 11 [02:00]
    12. Test 12 [03:00]
    13. Test 13 [02:12]